Discussion Forum for StarTeam Users
Posted by Tommie Mademark on January 30, 2001 at 12:26:11:
In Reply to: Purging of files. posted by Jon Tirs? on January 30, 2001 at 09:05:51:
: As part of our automatic build process we check in the build-result (distribution) to simplify deployment in the test-environment. These files are pretty big and since we build several times a day they will probably eat up very much disk space.
: The Help mentions purging but I can't find the instructions anywhere for how to purge a revision.
Deleting old revisions of a file (or any object) from the StarTeam repository is not possible. Objects can of course be deleted from the current configuration (tip revision) and will disappear from the view, but if you roll back in time, the file will be visible again. The reason for this is that you are not allowed to go back in time and change the history, which is what you would do if you completely deleted a file from the repository.
What you can purge are the following items:
File Status Table
Security Event Log
Post a Followup